Another year older – a 366-day reflection

2011 Birthday with Mickey, Minnie and Mark

It’s November 14, the day before my birthday.  The last 366 days (remember, this year was a Leap Year), have brought about many gleeful celebrations, interesting changes, difficult struggles, sad good-byes, and plain ‘ol surprises.  The biggest surprise is that so much has happened during that single trip around the sun!

The significance of today is one of the reasons I started up my blog again.  It’s been a little more than a year since my last posting and looking back on the previous blog entries, I realized how much I enjoyed scripting my stories and adventures.  There were excerpts of weekend outings, photos of yummy dinners and narrations of travels with family and friends.  There has been more of those same stories this last year, but I haven’t been able to share those with my loyal readers.

For instance, today is also the one-year anniversary of my grandfather’s passing.  He lived a good, long life and although we were not surprised to lose him, the following days and months have been a struggle for the family as my mom and grandmother cope with his absence.

The Furtado WeddingHowever, during that time my family has had numerous  celebrations to distract us.  My sister was wedded to her now charming husband in August.  The Massey-Furtado was the event to the year!  It was wonderful having so many friends and family descend in California for the  party.  From the year-long preparations to the day-of excitement, it was a blessed occasion.  Congratulations Molly and Kevin.

Another nuptial was my very own!  My hero and my best friend is now my husband.  Our wedding was very intimate with a lovely ceremony on the beach.  The most important part of the day was that the Lord now recognizes and blesses me and Mark’s life together.

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Colossians 3:12

Our beach wedding

Leading up to the Murray-Massey wedding was a time of chaos and many other life-changing decisions.  While life in Long Beach was fun and adventurous, our jobs and our general Californication was driving us to make a move.  That move resulted in a return to our hometown of Albuquerque.   In just a few month’s time, we bought a new house, quit our jobs in corporate America, started our own consulting firm and relocated across three states to New Mexico.

I envision there are going to be many stories to share of this new chapter in our lives together and of my next year on the planet – Mark and I will have special occasions with family, we’ll be traveling across the West, we’ll have reports on the joys of home ownership, I’ll have new recipes to try, and of course, there will be many golf outings to talk about.

I hope you will enjoy reading these musings as much as I like to scribble them.

Leave a Reply

