WANTED: Rain or Snow

IMG_3253

It’s doubtful the Rio Grande will have enough water to irrigate New Mexico’s crops this year.

We are actually getting a little moisture as I type – the skies are grey and every so often I see a snowflake or raindrop fall on my small, slowly greening lawn.  Western states are currently experiencing a major spring storm, however, many are holding out little hope that we’ll get enough precipitation to remedy the “Worst drought conditions in a century” – a headline recently featured in the local newspaper.

An article I wrote about the drought and how it’s impacting local ranchers and farmers recently was published in an industry publication Network Magazine.  It was an interesting process to draft this article as many of my interviews and much of my research occurred in February, when there was still a possibility of a big winter storm.  It’s now officially spring and the land is still thirsty.  However, as many of those I spoke with said, let’s wait and see.  Sometimes the West’s wettest months are from April – August … we can only pray that will be the case this year.

One of the farmers I interviewed in New Mexico quoted from Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath, and I thought it provided compelling words for us all to live by:

This land, this red land, is us; and the flood years and the dust years and the drought years are us.

Network-Spring-2013Click here to read my latest article: Parched Prairie

One response to “WANTED: Rain or Snow

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated | The Weekly Watermelon·

Leave a Reply

