A Gift From My Mom: The Power and Protection of Turquoise

Wearing our Southwest finest with one of our favorite artisans.

Wearing our Southwest finest with one of our favorite artisans.

The traits and characteristics that mothers pass on to their daughters run the gamut:  From her beautiful smile and bright eyes, from the sound of her voice and the pitch of her laugh, and from her caring nature to her interest in pretty things.

Turquoise brings out the best in my mom.

Turquoise brings out the best in my mom.

My mother and grandmother have always had beautiful collections of jewelry (especially of the Southwest kind) that complement their graceful and lovely demeanors.  Over the years I have watched them trade gifts on various special occasions of turquoise bracelets and sterling silver baubles.  Each has amassed amazing sets of handcrafted, intricately designed wearable art pieces.  Their jewelry boxes certainly don’t have anything that you can find at the jewelry counter at Wal-Mart.

Growing up, I liked tiny, sparkly necklaces and dainty pearly earrings, not yet mature in my appreciation of Native American jewelry.  Once I graduated college, got married and was whisked away to Colorado, the first care package my mother sent to me included a precious turquoise earring and necklace set.   I was tentative to wear them outside the house, thinking it was only a “New Mexico thing” — what would my new friends think?

I remember the day I wore that necklace and earring on a lunch date with a recently-made girlfriend.  She oohed and aahed over the unique color and design of my necklace.  When I got home and looked more closely in the mirror, I started to understand how special this gift from my mom really was.

As you research the meaning of Earth’s plethora of minerals, the turquoise stone is valued in many cultures and especially by Native American Indians as a symbol of good fortune, protection, good health and long life.

Cherishing these blessed adornments has now gone beyond another material possession – we now spend quality time together oogling over and trading our collections, telling stories of each pretty piece, and going to our favorite local shops to acquire more shared memories.

Thank you mom and grandma for passing down this special trait and I will forever appreciate our mutual adoration for things beautifully meaningful.

 

One response to “A Gift From My Mom: The Power and Protection of Turquoise

Leave a Reply

